Wild seascapes and sweeping surf beaches, wonderful coastal walks, birdlife and wildflowers, tall forests and an historic lighthouse are all features of South Bruny National Park. Access to Bruny Island is a 20-minute crossing by vehicular ferry from Kettering, 35 minutes’ drive south of Hobart. Head south, crossing at the narrow Neck (the isthmus connecting North and South Bruny Island) to reach the park boundary near Adventure Bay or south of Lunawanna. Walks include the coastal track to Penguin Island and Fluted Cape, from Adventure Bay; beach walks on Cloudy Bay; or the full-day circuit of the Labillardiere Peninsula. A narrow gravel road links Lunawanna and Adventure Bay, giving wide, stunning south-westerly views. As you walk look out for Bennetts wallabies, pademelons, echidna and wombats. From November to April each year the short-tailed shearwaters arrive to mate and breed along the shore before heading out on their heroic journey to the northern hemisphere. The lighthouse at Cape Bruny was built between 1836 and 1838 with convict labour. The Bruny Island Ferry Service runs seven days a week.
Current park passes must be purchased for entry to Tasmania’s national parks. For full details please visit the Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife website.