Corinda’s Cottages; three historic self-contained cottages in the Glebe, on the Queen’s Domain, in Hobart.
The Glebe is one of the oldest and quaintest areas of Hobart with views across the city and Mt Wellington.
The original Corinda’s cottages were built in the 1850, and when the main building was completed, in 1880, they became the servants’ quarters. Alfred Crisp, the original builder, was a wealthy Hobart timber merchant who later became Lord Mayor of Hobart.
There are now three beautifully restored, self-contained guest cottages accommodating two persons in each: the Servant’s quarters and the Coach-House, which overlook the cobbled courtyard on the Aberdeen Street side, and at the front of the house, in the formal garden, is the Gardener’s Cottage. Each restored using a mix of traditional and contemporary design. What gives the cottages their unique appeal is the imaginative way they have been decorated using colour and antiques.
Each year Corinda’s garden is a feature of the Open Garden Scheme.
Within a few minutes’ walk you can find tennis courts, the Hobart Aquatic Centre, the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and many hectares of shady natural bush. Hobart city centre is only a five-minute walk away.