Lumera Chalets is an oasis snuggled below a large knobbly outcrop mountain known affectionately as St Patricks Head (Lumera Genena Wuggelena) over looking the east coast of Tasmania, it provides travellers with an ancient sense of protection and safety as well as the most sensational coastal panorama in all of Australia and Tasmania.
The history of our unique piece of Tasmania can be traced back some 30,000 years to a time when it was an important hunting ground for the Tasmanian Aborigines. It was home to the Ben Lomond Tribe (Plangermaireener) and frequently visited by bands from the Oyster Bay Tribe (Paredarerme), who travelled up from their East Coast territory via a route past St Patricks Head.
Named by Tobias Furneaux on St Patricks Day, 1773 St Patrick’s Head was known to the Aborigines as Lumera Genena Wuggelina, which means ‘a great molar tooth’.
The peaked mountain at the eastern end of the Fingal Valley was an essential land mark for Aboriginal people as well as holding significant spiritual values.