Menu 

Low Head Foghorn

The Low Head Foghorn, at the mouth of the Tamar River, is a unique piece of Tasmania’s maritime history.
The Foghorn was installed in 1929 and decommissioned in 1973. It was restored in early 2000 by a group of volunteers and is sounded each Sunday at noon. It is the only operational G-type diaphone in the world. The building also houses a very rare Gardner kerosene engine.
Enjoy the beautiful sea views from the headland and feel free to have a chat with the volunteers in attendance every Sunday at noon. Under ideal conditions the Foghorn can be heard approximately 20 kilometres out to sea. Hearing protection is advised.
Come and join us on Good Friday, the Foghorn is sounded as the leading yachts in the Three Peaks Race enter Bass Strait.
The associated Lighthouse was built in 1888, replacing the original 1833 convict-built structure. With an elevation of 43 metres, it dominates the headland.
Nearby there is the Low Head Pilot Station, being the first pilot station to operate in Australia. Commencing in 1805, it continues to provide pilotage for visiting ships.
You can visit the Maritime Museum and a have a light meal at the café.

Place Categories: See & Do in Launceston.Place Tags: activities, attraction, do, family, launceston and things to do.

Related Listing

Reviews are closed.

Report this?

Send To Friend

Captcha Verification
captcha image

Send Enquiry

Captcha Verification
captcha image

Claim Listing

What is the claim process?

Captcha Verification
captcha image