Lady Franklin Gallery, situated in Tasmania’s capital Hobart, was built in 1842.
This gallery in the Hobart suburb of Lenah Valley was built by Lady Jane Franklin, wife of Sir John Franklin, who was governor of Tasmania at the time.
The building fell into neglect after the Franklins departure in 1843 but was resuscitated in 1948 by the Art Society of Tasmania, which now runs it as a gallery for the display of paintings by leading Tasmanian artists, and to house a library of art books.
Lady Jane and Sir John Franklin purchased 410 acres of land at Ancanthe, including 10 acres of garden and later 400 acres of working farm land adjacent. It now consists of merely four acres with the park providing the community with a unique environment to enjoy its winding paths and grassy embankments, while surrounded by the native wilderness and its wildlife.